If You Loved Vagabonds!, You’re Going to Love These Books

April 12, 2022

Everyone is raving about Eloghosa Osunde’s Vagabonds! Looking at the lives of defiant characters navigating the streets of Lagos, Vagabonds! has everyone in a chokehold. But what do we do when we finish reading it? Well, if you loved Vagabonds! or just African literature in general, we’ve got some more great stuff for you to read.

1. The Teller of Secrets by Bisi Adjapon

In Bisi Adjapon’s debut novel, we embark on a journey of self-discovery and feminist awakening through the eyes of Esi, a Nigerian-Ghanaian girl who’s trying to figure her shit out amid the political chaos of 1960s Ghana. Narrated entirely from Esi’s point of view, we quickly begin to question the hypocrisy of the patriarchal society and the crazy demands placed on women of that time. 

Why it slaps: Even though we argue about Jollof every three days, The Teller of Secrets shows that Nigerians and Ghanaians are more alike than we’d like to admit. The book also succeeds at weaving actual historical facts into the characters’ timeline. Love it!

2. The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi

This book opens with the death of our title character, Vivek Orji after their mother discovers their lifeless body on her doorsteps. Throughout the book, we work our way through multiple narratives as we attempt to figure out not just how Vivek died, but who they were. 

Why it slaps: The Death of Vivek Oji is a raw and audacious story that is told in a way that the characters feel like real people. It also explores themes of culture, identity, family and loss in a way that feels different, yet very familiar.

3. Tomorrow Died Yesterday by Chimeka Garricks 

Crude oil and friendship sit at the centre of Chimeka Garrik’s tragic debut novel Tomorrow Died Yesterday. Tracking the lives of four characters Doughboy, Amaibi, Kaniye and Tubo, we’re transported to the oil-rich Niger Delta circa 2004, as we dig deep into a tale of greed, corruption and a sprinkle of religion. 

Why it slaps: Who doesn’t love a good thriller? The drama in this book is insane as we move from kidnappings to court proceedings to jails — omo, it’s a lot. 

RECOMMENDED: These 7 African Books Need to Be Adapted Into Film ASAP

4. Under the Udala Tree by Chinelo Okparanta 

Set in 1968, just one year into the Biafran war, Chinelo Okparanta’s Under the Udala Tree explores love and how a chance encounter can change your life forever. The book follows the friendship between Ijeoma, a Christian Igbo girl, and Amina, a Muslim Hausa girl, and how this friendship evolves into a forbidden passion. 

Why it slaps: Just like Chimamanda Ngozi-Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun, this book is another masterclass on how to creatively weave a war and love story into one that captures the readers and has them turning the pages in anticipation. 

5. The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu 

What happens when two hairdressers in modern-day Zimbabwe cross the line between rivalry and friendship — and eventually romantic attraction? This book starts up as a classic love story but slowly delves into concepts surrounding otherness and acceptance. It’s a brilliant read and a deep dive into how people make things work in relationships these days. 

Why it slaps: You almost don’t see the plot twist coming even though the signs have been there all along. It also explores something that seems to be a social media hot topic every week. Want to know what that is? Well, you have to read the book. 

6. Love in Colour by Bolu Babalola 

If you need ginger to hunt down the love of your life, read Love in Colour and watch the new season of Bridgerton. Bolu Babalola is a sucker for love and she tells her stories in such a vivid way that at the end, you’ll find yourself in her shoes. Capturing different love stories with different characters, Love in Colour is an exquisite retelling of black love for a new generation of readers. 

Why it slaps: Who doesn’t want to read about love, especially when it centres black people like us? It just hits different. 

7. Fimí Síle Forever by Nnnana Ikpo

How do two twin brothers — bisexual, closeted and dreadlocked — navigate existing in Nigeria after the Same-Sex Marriage (Prohibition) Act becomes law?  Fimí Síle explores activism, love and the power of creating art. Nnnana Ikpo shines a light on remarkable lives affected by a senseless bill

Why it slaps: The lives of Nigerian bisexual men and women rarely get a time in the spotlight which makes this story a rare find. It’s a delicious book that refused to back down from something most Nigerians would rather ignore than analyse. 

ALSO READ: 8 Books by Nigerian Women Everyone Should Read in Women’s History Month

Join The Conversation

Bring a friend.

You'll like this

Watch

Now on Zikoko

July 4, 2022

Is love enough or is it all about money? How do you receive either when you had a broken childhood? These are the questions *Kate answers in her story about unlearning the idea that love is equivalent to enduring financial struggles with her partner.

July 4, 2022

When women refuse to follow society’s script, all hell breaks loose. We receive a range of reactions — from parents weeping to random people’s comments — and we’re sick of it. Here’s a list of things you shouldn’t say to women who don’t want kids.

July 4, 2022

Lending people money can be very risky. You have to be ready to fight or say bye-bye to your money for the sake of peace. If you’ve already made the terrible mistake of giving out your hard-earned money, then you can never be too prepared for the process of getting it back. We put together […]

Recommended Quizzes

September 1, 2021

August is over, and here are some of our best quizzes from August. Enjoy: 1. QUIZ: Only Ajebutters Can Get 10/21 On This Quiz Some people like to form ajepako when they’re really ajebutter. Are you one of them? Let’s find out. 2. QUIZ: Sorry, If You’re Under 25 There’s No Way You Can Pass […]

November 12, 2019

Are you a single pringle, stuck in a complicated situationship or happily married to the love of your life? This quiz is here to guess your current relationship status, and as you know, Zikoko quizzes are incredibly accurate (don’t quote us). So, give a shot:

November 20, 2019

Last month, we thoughtfully made a quiz telling you guys exactly when you’ll marry, but some of you claimed that your spouse was nowhere to be found. Well, now we’ve created one that’ll tell you exactly who you’ll be dragging down that aisle. Take and start planning that wedding: 11 Quizzes For Nigerians Who Are […]

What are you like in a relationship?
February 7, 2020

Your taste in music can say a lot about you, and this time, it’s going to reveal what you are like in a relationship. So, pick a few of your favourite Nigerian love songs, and we’ll let you know if you’re typically a distant, passionate or unbothered partner. Here you go:

October 29, 2019

We are going to be attempting to guess when you’ll marry based on your favourite Nigerian foods. What does your fave swallow have to do with when you’ll tie the knot? Please, don’t ask complicated questions. This quiz is rigorous and accurate (don’t quote us), so just take it already. QUIZ: Why Do You Have […]

More from Pop

Hollywood conference
July 2, 2022

The 12th edition of ZUFF, Nollywood’s major film festival, raised the question of whether the world’s second-largest film market by the number of films can tap the continent’s huge film-making potential and leverage changing economic and technological realities.

Watch

Trending Videos

Zikoko Originals

December 14, 2020
What happens when a group of chatty young Nigerians talk about things they're passionate about? You get Nigerians talk. A show that discusses very familiar struggles for the average Nigerian. From relationship deal breakers to sex education with Nigerian parents to leaving Nigeria, be prepared for a ride.
November 2, 2020
'The Couch' is a Zikoko series featuring real life stories from anonymous people.
October 26, 2020
A collection of videos documenting some of the events of the EndSARS protests.
June 22, 2020
'The Couch' is a Zikoko series featuring real life stories from anonymous people.
June 22, 2020
Hacked is an interesting new series by Zikoko made up of fictional but hilarious chat conversations.
June 4, 2020
What happens when a group of chatty young Nigerians talk about things they're passionate about? You get Nigerians talk. A show that discusses very familiar struggles for the average Nigerian. From relationship deal breakers to sex education with Nigerian parents to leaving Nigeria, be prepared for a ride.
June 2, 2020
Quickie is a video series where everyone featured gets only one minute to rant, review or do absolutely anything.
May 14, 2020
Isolation Diary is a Zikoko series that showcases what isolation is like for one young Nigerian working from home due to the Coronavirus pandemic.
March 12, 2020
Life is already hard. Deciding where to eat and get the best lifestyle experiences, isn't something you should stress about. Let VRSUS do that for you.

Z! Stacks

Here's a rabbit hole of stories to lose yourself in:

Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.
X