10 Unpopular Marriage Opinions Young Nigerians Are Not Sorry About

April 29, 2020
marriage

Marriage is bat shit scary. What? Why are you all looking at me funny? I just said out loud what we all secretly think about. He who is without “how tf will I marry someone” should be the first to cast a stone.

Yh, I didn’t think so.

Anyway, seeing as young people generally feel the same way about the institution that is marriage, I asked them about the hill they are willing to die on concerning marriage. Some of the answers were interesting…

Here are some of the responses:

1) Marriage is not by force.

“See, many people are not fit to live with another person or raise kids. They know and have accepted this. I just wish other people would be self-aware enough to stop allowing society pressure them into something they don’t like or will ever be ready for.”

2) Big wedding = big spending.

“If your husband does not spend a lot of money making the wedding ceremony glamorous, it’s a sign that he is going to be stingy in the marriage. My dear, run.”

3) Is it your money?

“There’s a scene in Ozark where the actor has 24 hours to produce 8 million dollars or be killed by the Mafia. He explains the situation to his wife and they agree to unite as a family to pay off the money. Later that day, his wife empties their joint account and tries to elope with her secret lover.

After watching that scene, the hill I am willing to die on is that you should not share a bank account with your partner. Let each man eat from the sweat of their breast. Imagine someone eloping with my hard-earned money.”

4) There is nothing like too soon.

“I see people say that you should date for xx number of years before getting married and I think that’s silly. Some even say that marrying someone you met 6 months ago is too soon.

There is only so much you can simulate in a relationship. Marriage is way different. You only get good at marriage by being married and scaling the hurdles of life. Abi can relationship prepare you for the death of a child or cancer?”

5) Marry someone you can tolerate.

“People say marry your best friend and shit like that and that’s a big lie. Does your best friend live with you all year round? Do they snore? Marry someone you can tolerate on most days and find peace.”

6) Marry someone richer than you.

“It’s not compulsory to marry for love. You can get fond of a person with time. But it is compulsory that marriage helps you climb up financially and socially. Check that pali before you marry. So that your children will not swear for you the way I swear for my parents.”

7) Sexual chemistry is a must.

“Miss me with that no sex until marriage yarns. I have to make sure that the person I marry likes all the sexual things I like. I will now marry someone that will be telling me sorry while he’s choking me. I say disrespect me, you are saying sorry. Sorry for yourself.”

8) I believe in a soulmate…but.

“I totally believe in the concept of a soulmate. But, I believe you can have more than one. See, I love everybody and left to me, I will sleep with everybody. They are all my soul mates. I keep telling these women that they are all special to me but they don’t believe. I am just an equal opportunity lover who has so much love to give.”

9) No time.

“Once I finish University and I get a job that pays me at least N150,000 to N200,000, I am going to get married. My parents started with less and didn’t do so badly.

Premarital sex makes me feel guilty so it’s best I make it legal as quickly as possible. My married friends say sex slaps sweeter when you are not constantly thinking of burning in hell after. I want to experience that.”

10) Na wa.

“No matter who you choose or how well thought how you plan, you will still marry the wrong person. I think everyone should read this article for better context before they think I am some unhappy and miserable person.”

If you enjoyed reading this, you should read 6 Of The Biggest Lies Nigerians Have Told About Money.

Hassan Yahaya

Join The Conversation

Bring a friend.

You'll like this

Watch

Now on Zikoko

January 16, 2021

The subject of this week’s Sex Life is a 24-year-old heterosexual man who feels the size of his penis is preventing him from living his best sex life. He talks about how being shamed by multiple women has scarred him.

Recommended Quizzes

how much of an ajebutter
February 12, 2020

Are you an ajebutter or not? Well, if you’ve gone through life blissfully unaware of its harshness, then you probably are. Now, we want to know just how high you rank on that ajebutter scale, using your food preferences as a (very accurate) measure. Take to find out:

November 15, 2019

There are two types of people in Nigeria right now: those who are proud Marlians, and those who are still in denial about stanning the divisive star. So, for those who proudly wear the Marlian tag, we made a quiz to test how well you really know Naira Marley. If you get more than 6 […]

November 22, 2019

It can be very stressful when you’re trying to find the love of your life, but you only keep meeting people that are exactly like your yeye ex. To help you be more aware of that problem, we’ve created a quiz that lets you know the kind of people you are attracting. Take it to […]

More from Inside Life

January 16, 2021

The subject of this week’s Sex Life is a 24-year-old heterosexual man who feels the size of his penis is preventing him from living his best sex life. He talks about how being shamed by multiple women has scarred him.

January 15, 2021

If you watch football regularly, you’ll enjoy seeing people humiliate their opponents by dribbling them just to hear the crowd go wild. If you play football, you’re either the one who dribbles people or the one who gets dribbled. If you’re the one who gets dribbled, you’ll be able to relate to this. And you […]

January 15, 2021

Annual remittances to Nigeria are estimated to be approximately $24bn, accounting for 6% of GDP, according to research by PwC. The importance of these overseas transfers has been amplified by the global pandemic and economic downturn. In response to the Central Bank of Nigeria’s Directive on international money transfers, WorldRemit was the first cross-border payments […]

January 15, 2021

We Nigerians often think we have a monopoly on ruggedness, but I think the Zimbabweans come close, especially the transport sector. I found a number of similarities between the Nigerian danfo system and the Zimbabwean system, and I knew I HAD to share ASAP. NB: Buses in Zimbabwe are called kombis, while in Nigeria, they […]

Watch

Trending Videos

Zikoko Originals

December 14, 2020
What happens when a group of chatty young Nigerians talk about things they're passionate about? You get Nigerians talk. A show that discusses very familiar struggles for the average Nigerian. From relationship deal breakers to sex education with Nigerian parents to leaving Nigeria, be prepared for a ride.
November 2, 2020
'The Couch' is a Zikoko series featuring real life stories from anonymous people.
October 26, 2020
A collection of videos documenting some of the events of the EndSARS protests.
June 22, 2020
'The Couch' is a Zikoko series featuring real life stories from anonymous people.
June 22, 2020
Hacked is an interesting new series by Zikoko made up of fictional but hilarious chat conversations.
June 4, 2020
What happens when a group of chatty young Nigerians talk about things they're passionate about? You get Nigerians talk. A show that discusses very familiar struggles for the average Nigerian. From relationship deal breakers to sex education with Nigerian parents to leaving Nigeria, be prepared for a ride.
June 2, 2020
Quickie is a video series where everyone featured gets only one minute to rant, review or do absolutely anything.
May 14, 2020
Isolation Diary is a Zikoko series that showcases what isolation is like for one young Nigerian working from home due to the Coronavirus pandemic.
March 12, 2020
Life is already hard. Deciding where to eat and get the best lifestyle experiences, isn't something you should stress about. Let VRSUS do that for you.

Z! Stacks

Here's a rabbit hole of stories to lose yourself in:

Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.
X