By OrderPaper

In a world where Nigeria’s lawmakers are hard to reach like Dangote’s billions, OrderPaper—a think-tank monitoring Nigerian legislators—is here to help you unravel a few things about the legislative landscape with the MVP awards.

Do you know who an MVP is? 

MVP typically stands for Most Valuable Player in a collaborative setting and Minimum Viable Product in the world of product development, and our partner OrderPaper has redefined it as the abbreviation for Most Valuable Parliamentarian in Nigeria’s National Assembly (NASS)–Senate and House of Reps.

As Senators and Honourables, in the bicameral legislature established under Section 4 of the Nigerian Constitution, these legislators are recognised as the V (valuable) class due to their proven performance-driven, excellence-inspired, and public-spirited nature.

Out of the 469 parliamentarians comprising a Senate with 109 members and a 360-member House of Representatives, OrderPaper has shortlisted 25 individuals from the 9th Assembly to contend for the MVP Hall of Fame—only a selected few among the 25 would make it. The selection process so far has focused on evaluating the Bills they have sponsored, and the number of Bills passed, especially those signed into Law and their impact.

The sponsored Bills by these MPs encompass various reforms, programmes, and policies in education, healthcare, security, economic development, and environmental sustainability. Each Bill aims to address specific societal issues or concerns and enact laws that foster the well-being and progress of the citizens and Nigeria as a whole.

The 25 MPs who have been shortlisted for the MVP Hall of Fame are:


  1. Sen. Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Adamawa Central Senatorial District): 11 bills sponsored, 2 signed
  2. Sen. Ezenwa Francis Onyewuchi (Imo East Senatorial District): 11 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  3. Sen. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe (Kwara Central Senatorial District): 16 bills sponsored, two signed
  4. Sen. Ifeanyi Patrick Ubah (Anambra South Senatorial District): 20 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  5. Sen. Michael Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central Senatorial District): 23 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  6. Sen. Mohammed Sani Musa (Niger East Senatorial District): 38 bills sponsored, 6 signed
  7. Sen. Ovie Augustine Omo-Agege (Delta Central Senatorial District): 25 bills sponsored, 1 signed
  8. Sen. Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia North Senatorial District): 25 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  9. Sen. Sadiq Suleiman Umar (Kwara North Senatorial District): 25 bills sponsored, 1 signed
  10. Sen. Suleiman Abdu Kwari (Kaduna North Senatorial District): 15 bills sponsored, 2 signed
  11. Sen. Uba Sani (Kaduna Central Senatorial District): 31 bills sponsored, 2 signed
  12. Sen. Yahaya Abubakar Abudullahi (Kebbi North Senatorial District): 7 bills sponsored, 4 signed

Also Read: Who Are the Female Senators in the 10th Senate?

Members of the House of Representatives:

  1. Hon. Benjamin Okezie Kalu (Bende Federal Constituency, Abia): 45 bills sponsored, 1 signed
  2. Hon. Ben Rollands Igbakpa (Ethiope East/Ethiope West Federal Constituency): 17 bills sponsored, 1 signed
  3. Hon. Dachung Musa Bagos (Jos South/Jos East Federal Constituency, Plateau): 33 bills passed, no bills signed yet.
  4. Hon. Dan Agundi Munir Babba (Kumbotso Federal Constituency, Kano): 8 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  5. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila (Surulere I Federal Constituency, Lagos): 23 bills sponsored, no bill signed yet.
  6. Hon. Fulata Abubakar Hassan (Birniwa/Guri/Kiri Kasama Federal Constituency Jigawa): 15 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  7. Hon. Mohammed Tahir Monguno (Monguno/Nganza/Marte Federal Constituency, Borno): 52 bills sponsored, 2 signed
  8. Hon. Onoifiok Luke Akpan (Etinan/Nsit Ibom/Nsit Ubium Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom): 34 bills sponsored, 3 passed
  9. Hon. Samuel Ifeanyi Onuigbo (Umuahia North/Umuahia South Federal Constituency, Abia): 4 bills sponsored, 1 signed
  10. Hon. Simon Davou Mwadkwon (Barkin Ladi/Riyom Federal Constituency, Plateau State): 23 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.
  11. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas (Zaria Federal Constituency, Kaduna): 74 bills sponsored, 21 signed
  12. Hon. Uzoma Nkem Abonta (Ukwa East/Ukwa West Federal Constituency, Abia): 40 bills sponsored, 2 signed
  13. Hon. Waive Ejiroghene Francis (Ughelli North/Ughelli South/Udu Federal Constituency, Delta): 38 bills sponsored, no bills signed yet.

Many of these bills will undergo all four stages of passage before they can become Law. As you wonder why there is a much greater number of Bills sponsored than signed, it’s because many of the Bills are at these different stages:

  • First Reading: Introduction of the Bill, presenting its general principles and objectives
  • Second Reading: Debate and voting on the Bill’s principles and content
  • Committee Stage: Detailed examination of the bill by a committee, and they will propose amendments if necessary.
  • Third Reading: Final debate and voting on the Bill, marking its passage in the House of Assembly.

As the 9th Assembly prepares to be dissolved, more than half of the 469 seats in both the Senate and House of Representatives were won by first-timers after the February 25 parliamentary poll to join the 10th Assembly. As regards the bills sponsored by those who were not elected, they will not be automatically withdrawn or invalidated—the fate of those bills lies in the legislative dynamics, the level of support from other lawmakers, and the priorities of the incoming legislative session.

Among other stakeholders with expectations of the 10th Assembly, the Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre has applauded OrderPaper, stating that the MVP Hall of Fame will encourage more “exemplary leadership” in the country’s legislative process. 

Reason am, this recognition by OrderPaper will motivate the parliamentarians to keep doing excellent work for the betterment of their constituents and the nation.

The MVPs listed above set a precedent for more leaders to follow suit by sponsoring bills addressing specific societal issues or concerns. Their actions will undeniably inspire other lawmakers to take up the challenge of crafting bills that will foster the well-being and progress of the citizens and Nigeria as a whole.

Read the OrderPaper’s full report here to get more insight into the MVP Hall of Fame in Nigeria’s House of Assembly.


Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.