The Nigerian experience is physical, emotional, and sometimes international. No one knows it better than our features on #TheAbroadLife, a series where we detail and explore Nigerian experiences while living abroad.

In July 2023, the Seychelles government banned Nigerian passport holders from applying for short-term or holiday visas.

This led to a series of frustrated comments on the ban, with many Nigerians lamenting the recent blacklisting of Nigerians in other countries.

But now that we’ve been visa-banned from these countries, what’s next? Well, according to the VisaGuide Passport Index, the Nigerian passport ranks 189th out of 215 countries in the world. This means that we can only travel visa-free to 26 countries worldwide.

These 26 countries are:

  • Barbados
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cabo Verde
  • Chad
  • Cook Islands
  • Ivory Coast
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • Niger
  • Niue
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Gambia
  • Togo
  • Vanuatu

Are there any additional requirements?

You still need to have a valid passport—typically for six months after your departure date—and you must buy travel health insurance in accordance with your destination country’s requirements for visa-free travel.

The ‘Nigeria-Friendly’ Countries

In countries like these, visa applications and immigration laws are more relaxed. You have the option of either applying for the visa online (as opposed to standing in long queues) or getting your visa on arrival.

Countries that grant E-visas 

Just think of the usual visa process, but online

. You can submit your application online, including the visa payment.

After your application is approved, you will receive an email confirming your visa status and a document you must print and bring when crossing the border/airport. Your visa will be registered online, but some officers may ask you for a physical copy of the permit; that is why keeping the copy on your person while travelling is important.

Here are the 23 countries that grant e-visas for Nigerian passport holders:

  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Comoros
  • Iran
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Somalia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tuvalu

The ‘Visa on Arrival’ Countries

Every country has specific visa policies that include who is allowed to apply for a visa on arrival. This visa is usually given for Tourism, business, family, and medical purposes.

How do you apply for a visa on arrival?

This visa is usually obtained at either the border or the airport. The steps include:

  1. Bring the required documents with you. Each country has its own checklist of documents that you must present to apply for a visa. The documents include:
  • A valid passport:  Your passport must be valid for at least one year and include copies of your previous visas (if any).
  • A passport-size photograph: The number of photographs may change depending on the country.
  • A completed and signed application form: You can check the website of that country’s embassy or immigration authorities to see if you need a printed copy of the application.
  • A card or cash to pay the visa fee: If you are required to pay beforehand, you must have proof that you have finished your visa application fee payment. Also, check whether you need cash in the currency of the country you visit.
  • A hotel reservation or a rental agreement This is used as accommodation proof.
  • A round-trip ticket.
  • A valid travel health insurance certificate.
  • A bank statement.
  1. Upon arrival, approach the designated area for the Visa on Arrival. Many countries will have a designated area to accept VOA applications, such as a counter or a booth; others will issue the visa directly at the checkpoint. You have to submit the required documents to the immigration or visa officer.
  2. Finish the requested fee payment for your visa application. The visa fee amount can change depending on the country you plan to visit. You may also be required to pay in cash (in that country’s currency), so check beforehand to be prepared.
  3. Wait until the border crossing issues your visa. This can take from a few minutes to a few hours, depending on the country.

Here’s the list of countries that issue visas on arrival:

  • Armenia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia
  • Qatar
  • Egypt
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Malaysia
  • Nigeria
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Turkey
  • Thailand
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam


Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.