On Thursday, July 27, the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, received the ministerial list from the president’s office. Femi Gbajabiamila, the Chief of Staff to the President, presented the list to Akpabio at exactly 01:19 pm.  

Twenty-eight nominees have made the list, including 21 men and seven women. Who are they?

Ministerial nominees

Abubakar Momoh

A lawmaker from Edo State. He was a former member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) before defecting to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in 2019.

Yusuf Maitama Tuggar

Tuggar is a politician and diplomat serving as the Nigerian ambassador to Germany. He hails from Bauchi state.

Ahmad Dangiwa

Architect and former CEO of the Federal Mortgage Bank. He’s from Katsina state.

Hannatu Musawa

Initially appointed by Tinubu as a special adviser on entertainment and culture, Musawa has now been upgraded to minister. She’s a lawyer and comes from Katsina state.

Uche Nnaji

A politician from Enugu state, Nnaji was the APC’s flag-bearer in the 2023 gubernatorial election.

Betta Edu

Edu is an APC national women leader and former commissioner for health in Cross River state.

Doris Anite Uzoka

Uzoka is from Imo State. Before her appointment, she was the state’s commissioner for finance and coordinating economy.

David Umahi

Umahi was the former governor of Ebonyi. He’s a senator in the tenth national assembly.

Ezenwo Nyesom Wike

Wike is a former governor of Rivers state. He was also a leading contender for the PDP’s presidential ticket before losing out and forming the breakaway group of PDP governors known as the G5 that opposed Atiku Abubakar’s ambition. He was instrumental, albeit in controversial circumstances marred by blatant rigging, to the APC winning the presidential election in Rivers state.

Muhammed Badaru Abubakar

Abubakar is the former governor of Jigawa state. He has also chaired presidential committees on fertilizer as well as non-oil revenue.

Nasir El-Rufai

El-Rufai is a former FCT minister and former governor of Kaduna state. He has served in various capacities in previous administrations and was a key ally to former President Buhari and now, Tinubu.

Ekperikpe Ekpo

Ekpo was a former senatorial candidate for the APC in Akwa-Ibom North West district. He would later step down for Akpabio, who emerged as Senate President.

Nkeiruka Onyejeocha

Onyejeocha is a lawmaker in the House of Representatives (HOR). She lost her position as deputy whip to a lawmaker from the Labour Party. She comes from Abia state.

Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo

Tunji-Ojo hails from Ondo state. He’s a former business and management executive who forayed into politics by becoming elected to the HOR in 2019.

Stella Okotete

Okotete was, before her appointment, an Executive Director (Business Development) at the Nigeria Export-Import (NEXIM) Bank. A position she was appointed to by President Buhari. She has also served as a women’s national leader in the APC. Okotete comes from Delta state.

Uju Kennedy-Ohanenye

Kennedy-Ohanenye is a barrister from Anambra state. She famously ran for the presidential ticket under the APC before dropping out.

Bello Muhammad Goronyo

Goronyo is from Sokoto state. He was formerly of the PDP before he defected in 2019. Goronyo was a former commissioner of information and the Zonal Secretary North West of the APC.

Dele Alake

Alake, a long-time buddy of Tinubu, is the Special Adviser to the President, Special Duties, Communications, and Strategy. His position has now been upgraded to a ministerial portfolio.

Lateef Fagbemi

Fagbemi comes from Ijagbo, Kwara State. He is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN). 

Mohammad Idris

Idris hails from Niger state. He was a former commissioner for information and strategy.

Olawale Edun

Edun is a banker with a corporate finance, economics, and international finance background. He was a former commissioner of finance in Lagos under Tinubu as governor. Prior to his nomination, he was a special adviser to the president.

Waheed Adebayo Adelabu

Adebayo is a former deputy governor of the CBN and a former governorship candidate of APC from Oyo State.

Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim

Sulaiman-Ibrahim was born in Jos but was raised in Abuja. She’s a politician and businesswoman who has served as Federal Commissioner of the National Commission for Refugees, Migrants, and Internally Displaced Persons under President Buhari.

Muhammad Ali Pate

Pate is a politician, physician, and professor of public health. Born in Bauchi state, he was a former minister of state for health. In February 2023, Pate was appointed Chief Executive Officer of GAVI, the Vaccine Alliance. He has, however, resigned his position to resume public office.

Joseph Utsev

Utsev has a background in engineering and hails from Benue state.

Abubakar Kyari

Kyari was a senator representing Borno North Senatorial District of Borno State from 2015 until his resignation in April 2022. He is a member and the acting national chairman of the APC.

John Enoh

Enoh is a former senator who hails from Cross River state.

Sani Abubakar Danladi

Danladi is a former acting governor and former senator whose tenure was shortlived after a Supreme Court ruling unseated him. He’s from Taraba state. 

Download the Citizen Election Report: Navigating Nigeria’s Political Journey



Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.